allanbanner

WHAT'S NEW VIDEO/AUDIO  BIOGRAPHY BOOKS PLAYS  BIBLIOGRAPHY READINGS/BOOKINGS BLOG CONTACT ALLAN

      

 

whatsnewbanner 


NOW AVAILAB LE

THE RESURRECTION OF MARY MABEL MCTAVISH

Published by Dundurn Press

Buy at your favourite local bookstore or at www.chapters.indigo.ca, www.amazon.com and www.barnesandnoble.com

Mary Mabel An adult comic novel set in the 1930s about a young woman who becomes a Hollywood star after 'resurrecting' a kid electrocuted at a revival meeting. Jack Warner, J. Edgar Hoover, W.R. Hearst and the Rockettes round out a cast of Ponzi promoters, Bolshevik hoboes, tent revivalists, and double-dealing social climbers in a fast-paced tale that satirizes the religious right, media manipulation, celebrity and greed.

"Stratton’s expertise at black comedy is very much in evidence in this novel. His ability to make extraordinary events seem somehow plausible, combined with his mastery of wit and language, leaves us shaking our heads at one moment, and laughing out loud the next. Like many a modern humourists, Stratton’s real talent lies in his honest – and sometimes grisly – depictions of human foibles, coupled with a recognition of how easy it is to slip over to the dark side."
Quill and Quire

Like some of the great comic novels -- Catch-22, for example, or M*A*S*H* -- this one gets its humour from its characters… This is a stylishly written, very funny historical that has some smart things to say about the mass media, about manufactured phenomena, and about religious nogoodniks.
Booklist (USA)

“A glorious romp of a tale featuring a chorus line of characters high-kicking their way across the stage. Religious flimflammery, movie moguls, Hollywood hustlers and dust bowl dreams have never been so fun.”
Will Ferguson, Giller Award winning author of 419.

"If Flannery O'Connor had one day slathered on the pancake, decided never again to say "excuse me," and set out to write a biography of Aimee Semple McPherson, she might have come up with The Resurrection of of Mary Mabel McTavish. Two-bit evangelists, legendary press barons, perfidious headmistresses, and adolescent miracle workers rampage through Allan Stratton's new novel, a Southern Ontario gothic that crackles with wicked fun. It's hilarious and it's evil: vintage Stratton."
Bill Richardson (Stephen Leacock Award winner for Bachelor Brothers' Bed and Breakfast)


Read synopsis

Read excerpt



NOW AVAILABLE

CURSE OF THE DREAM WITCH

WINNER OF 2014 CANADIAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION BEST BOOK FOR CHILDREN AWARD

NOMINATED FOR THE FOREST OF READING "SILVER BIRCH" AWARD

NOMINATED FOR THE CANADIAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION'S BOOK OF THE YEAR FOR CHILDREN AWARD

Published by Scholastic Canada and Faber and Faber, UK

Coming soon to France from Bayard Jeunesse

Buy at your favourite local bookstore or at www.chapters.indigo.ca, www.amazon.com and www.barnesandnoble.com

NEW: ALLAN STRATTON READS FROM "CURSE OF THE DREAM WITCH"

It is the age of the Great Dread. The Dream Witch wants the heart of Princess Olivia. Until she has it, none of the kingdom's children are safe, including Milo, a peasant boy trapped in the Dream Witch's underground lair. Join Milo, Princess Olivia and a curious talking mouse on an epic adventure as they battle man-eating moles, magical parchments and a carpet of bats...

Curse of the Dream Witch is a cautionary tale that illustrates that "Dreams can become nightmares" with Allan Stratton's imagery so visual that the nightmare is almost tangible. … In the true spirit of folktales and fairy tales, (it) does more than teach about perseverance and self-respect and caring for others it entertains with humour (and) irreverence.
Can Lit for Little Canadians

Details such as the Witch’s flying meat cleaver, a tongue carpet, batwing paper, and spice grinders used as prison cells, make this book certain to be endearing to children and youth. - University of Manitoba 5/5 Deweys!
The Misbehavin’ Librarian

Allan Stratton’s novel is a fabulous romp through a fairytale kingdom with all the trimmings.
The Very Best Books

A fast paced plot, full of humour, wonder and at times despair. Curse of the Dream Witch has pace and energy and some vivid images add to the reader's enjoyment.
The School Librarian (UK)

Together with her friends, Princess Olivia sets off on a fantastical adventure, compelling told in this gripping story.
Parents in Touch (UK)

A read-aloud tale for young and old, with plenty of adventure and excitement to keep all readers on the edge of their seat
Canadian Library Association

A classic timeless fairy tale.
Canadian Library Association Award - Jury Chair Jaclyn McLean

Definitely recommended!
The Book Bag (UK)


Read excerpt


 

THE GRAVE ROBBER'S APPRENTICE

CANADIAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION BOOK OF THE YEAR FOR CHILDREN AWARD,
HONOUR BOOK

NOMINATED FOR THE 2012 GOVERNOR GENERAL'S LITERARY AWARD

NOMINATED FOR THE SILVER BIRCH AWARD

NOMINATED FOR THE RUTH AND SYLVIA SCHWARTZ CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD

NOMINATED FOR THE MANITOBA YOUNG READERS' CHOICE AWARD

ONTARIO LIBRARY ASSOCIATION'S BEST BETS FOR MIDDLE GRADE FICTION LIST

A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION

BEST BOOKS 2012 (STARRED), CANADIAN CHILDREN'S BOOK CENTER

ALA BOOKLIST REVIEW (STARRED)

DIAMOND WILLOW AWARD: SASKATCHEWAN STUDENT CHOICE AWARD

 

GRA Covers

HarperCollins, 2012
Cover Illustration by Jim Kay

 

Faber & Faber (Britain), 2012


"Allan Stratton’s The Grave Robber’s Apprentice is perfect for 8+. Fans of Philip Pullman’s Clockwork and Ken Oppel will delight in Stratton’s wit and zest, and his jokes, twists, ghosts, wolves, prophecies and gothic tropes"
The Times of London (Children's Book of the Week)

"Stratton tells it all in language as rollicking as a song, with almost as many amusing moments as there are heart-stopping ones."
Booklist (starred review)

"Delightful... Readers who like their fairy tales packed with action and happy endings will want to add this to their collections."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"The Grave Robber's Apprentice is (a) rollicking adventure tale, a fast-paced story with a couple of engaging heroes."
The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

"A classic adventure story... This clever tale hits all the right notes ... A fast-paced, entertaining historical fantasy."
Publisher's Weekly

"Funny, imaginative."
Quill and Quire (starred review)

"A playfully dramatic adventure with swashbuckling kids, mountain hermits, avalanche sledding and circus bears... Clever and funny... fresh and cheeky."
Kirkus Reviews

"Highly original... sublime... Sure to become a Canadian classic of the genre."
CM Magazine (4 stars out of 4)

"Bursting with breakneck action, daring quests, and heart-stopping near misses,
The Grave Robber's Apprentice is an exhilarating adventure full of humor and heart."
Joseph Delaney, author of the Last Apprentice series

"A rollicking and enchanting fairy tale for the 21st century."
Kenneth Oppel, author of the Airborn trilogy and the Silverwing Saga

"Stratton is a master at his craft, and he's given this story a heart of gold."
Arthur Slade, author of The Hunchback Assignments series

"A fun read."
School Library Journal

"A rip-roaring fantasy adventure ... Clever and funny ... Will take its place among other beloved children's classics."
Canadian Children's Book News

READ THE FIRST 25 PAGES!

How the North American cover of The Grave Robber's Apprentice developed...

How a Cover Develops

 

 

LIFE, ABOVE ALL

Adapted from the international best-seller Chanda's Secrets

LIFE, ABOVE ALL IS NOW AVAILABLE FOR PURCHASE ON DVD AND BLU-RAY!

Life Above All North American Poster

PURCHASE THE BLU-RAY + DVD COMBO which includes a "Making of Life, Above All"
special feature shot on set at Elandsdorn, South Africa, with interviews with Allan, the director,
producer, screenwriter and cast, and a lot of off-camera action!

From Amazon.com

From Amazon.ca

Read about the genesis of the film, cast and crew bios, location information, and more.

Watch the post-screening Q&A with Allan, director Oliver Schmitz and Screenwriter Dennis Foon
TIFF 2010: Life, Above All from IONCINEMA.com

OFFICIAL PRODUCTION STILLS
[click to view larger versions]

lifeaboveall1 lifeaboveall3 lifeaboveall4 lifeaboveall5 lifeaboveall6 lifeaboveall7